Baba Ghanoush

Baba ghanoush is a Middle Eastern dip made from aubergines. It is very similar to hummus. I first tasted baba ghanoush a few years ago, when my friend made this dip for me when I was busy studying! My friend was born in Sudan (Khartoum) and baba ghanoush is served around her dining table as part of the evening meal.  

It also makes a simple snack that is great served chilled and eaten with pita bread.

Ingredients:

One Aubergine (makes a small bowl of baba ghanoush, for a party use two aubergines).

Olive oil

Low-fat natural yoghurt (small amount)

Lemon juice (just a small squeeze)

Garlic granules (a teaspoon)

Honey (optional)

Salt (optional)

Tahini (optional)

Chilli powder or paprika

Method:

Peel one aubergine carefully with a sharp knife. Cut the aubergine into small pieces and place on a baking tray (tin-foil) with some olive oil for 20 minutes at 180C. (I drizzle a small amount of honey over the aubergines, I am sure you have noticed I love adding honey to food! I really really like it with baba ghanoush because I like the aubergines sweetened).

Place the cooked aubergine pieces into a blender with natural yoghurt, garlic granules, lemon juice and a little bit of olive oil. (My friend’s mother adds salt to hers. I leave it out as I prefer the taste of the garlic and honey mixed together with the aubergines. If you prefer a savory taste, then opt for salt.)

And then…blend…blend…blend!

Place the mixture in a bowl and sprinkle a little bit of chilli powder or paprika over it.  Leave it to chill in the fridge. And then when you feel like having a snack…pop some pita bread in the toaster, go to your fridge, take out the baba ghanoush, then dip and enjoy!

