New Snacks for the New Year

New Year, New You

Happy New Year everyone!  Why not add some of these healthy snacks to your shopping list for 2012?!

Licorice

I am a massive licorice lover! I have always loved licorice since I was a child. Not all licorice is healthy, most of the licorice in candy/sweets contain sweeteners and extra ingredients that are not that good for you. I like Panda licorice because it contains natural healthy ingredients. Whenever I see Panda licorice in a health store or pharmacy, I always buy some to have them for snacks during the week. Panda licorice contains natural licorice and is the product of manufacturing from natural ingredients, without preservatives. Panda licorice is good for your digestion and contains no added colours, added salt, artificial flavours, or preservatives. It is Kosher certified and suitable for vegans and vegetarians. It is also 99% fat free!

Olives

Olives are full of monounsaturated fat, which will make you feel fuller for longer. Seven olives equal 140 calories, 14g fat (mostly unsaturated). My favourite olives are Giovanni di Firenze olives with feta  cheese. I eat these like sweets, they are just so good!

Dried cranberries

Dried cranberries make a super sweet healthy snack, which you can have at your desk to nibble on at work during the day.

 Dried apricots

When I was in boarding school, I used to snack on dried apricots. This girl who slept in the dorm next to mine, used to raid my drawers looking for sweets, she was always disappointed, when all she could find were dried apricots and dates! When I started putting on weight, I brought these to school as snacks instead of chocolate and sweets! They are a great sweet yet healthy substitute for candy!

Dates

Dates are a great sweet yet healthy snack. Make it a New Years resolution to add them to your trolley instead of something naughty like a bag of crisps!

Manuka Honey

Whether it is spread on a slice of brown bread, added to yoghurt or tea, manuka honey is a great boost for your immune system. Manuka honey is a type of honey with antibacterial properties, which grows uncultivated throughout New Zealand. It tends to be pricey. In Ireland it starts at about 5 euros and goes up to over 30 euros depending on the UMF. The higher the UMF the more expensive the honey costs. Manuka honey is said to be a good remedy for colds, sore throats, stomach ulcers, skin ulcers, boils, minor burns and so on.  It is really nice and I sometimes just take a spoonful in the morning. It is worth the money if you have a cold. I always find it good when I feel a cold coming on.

Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin seeds eaten with the shell take longer to chew, and fill you up faster than if you eat them without the shell. Also, these seeds are full of magnesium, zinc and tryptophan (which helps calm your nerves or anxiety problems). A half cup of pumpkin seeds in shell is 143 calories, 6g fat and 6g protein.

Brazil Nuts

Brazil nuts are a good source of thiamin, vitamin E, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, copper and manganese. Brazil nuts are another good snack that is easy to have at your desk at work.

Sesame Snaps

I have noticed Sesame Snaps on sale in stores in Ireland and the UK. They are high in fibre, protein and calcium and are also gluten-free.

Fruit

Don’t forget your basic inexpensive fruit like apples, oranges, and bananas. I love Granny Smith Apples. At boarding school, I kept a bag of apples in my drawer, and ate them on my way to class. Smoothies are also a great breakfast drink/snack. If you are lucky and live in a country that has a large variety of fresh fruit on offer, then take advantage and make smoothies and fresh fruit salads. There is nothing better than a nice bowl of fresh fruit for breakfast, dessert or as a snack!

