Wexford’s Wonderful Street of Sweets

As a child, one of my favourite movies was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. My dreams at night were filled with sweets and chocolate. 

 On my 15th birthday, I went to London with my drama group, where I discovered the Chocolate Bar at Harrods. I had a white hot chocolate and I will never forget it!  When I lived in New York, a big treat was to enjoy the chocolate mess (toffee, bananas and chocolate brownie, topped with whipped cream and sprinkles with a side of caramel sauce and hazelnut bits) at Max Brenner’s chocolate restaurant. Speciality sweet shops or dessert restaurants are not as common in Ireland as they are in other countries, however, on a recent weekend away in Wexford, I discovered that Wexford town has a wonderful selection of sweet shops.

Mr Simms Olde Sweet Shoppe

One of my favourite sweet stores I came across was Mr Simms Olde Sweet Shoppe, which is part of a franchise that was established in 2004.  The concept for the franchise was inspired by an etching of an old fashioned sweet shop discovered in a copy of a 1958 confectionery magazine.                     

Inside the store

Mr Simms is located on the main street in Wexford town. It is owned and run by a friendly local Wexford family. The owner, Betty Furlong, works full-time in the shop with her two daughters who work part-time. Her  husband, brother and sister also help out from time to time.

Lots of lollies 

Enjoy the lovely selection of lolly pops on offer. 

 Chocolate Pizza

chocolate pizza

They have many unusual products on display including chocolate pizzas, chocolate chess sets, and chocolate mobile phones. I bought a cola bottle chocolate bar. I have never tasted anything like it before, and it was amazing!

Sweets from my childhood

Stingers, wham bars, refreshers, sherbet pens are some of the great retro sweets Mr Simms has on display. These are sweets from my childhood that remind me of walking to the shop with my school friends at break time. My brother had massive jars of retro sweets at his wedding. It was a great idea and the sweets were enjoyed by all the children and adults attending the wedding!

It’s Christmas Time!

Santa lollies make great stocking fillers and christmas gifts!

Something Savory

If you feel like something savory, why not try out Green Acres Bistro and Art Gallery, located in the heart of Wexford town. Enjoy its wonderful selection of exceptional wines, homemade food and artisanal cheese, and contemporary Irish art and sculpture.

Wexford Town

Wexford town is a great place for a weekend break.

Beach Time

Wexford has some beautiful beaches. Curracloe Beach is my favourite. It was the location in 1997 for the opening scenes of Saving Private Ryan, starring Tom Hanks, Matt Damon and my brother who was an extra!

