Sweet and Savory French Toast

french toast courgettes rasberries

 I eat french toast for breakfast, lunch, dinner and even dessert!

baguette

I find it funny that French and Italians eat it when it is really hard. I really only like it the first day and then the next day I like to make french toast with it! I have been making French Toast since I was a child. It is just so easy and tasty! I also like that it can be savory or sweet!

Basic French Toast

french toast

  To make basic french toast, just slice some baguette, crack an egg in a bowl (an egg per person), add some garlic granules (or chopped fresh garlic), and stir the eggs. (You can also add cheddar to it.) Then dip slices into the egg. Heat some oil on a frying pan. Fry the baguette slices. Keep an eye on them and turn them over when they are golden. Add some salt and pepper before eating.

Savory French Toast

French toast can be a great easy brunch for yourself or a group of friends. The great thing about it is you can put whatever you feel like on it. I chopped up and fried some courgettes, mushrooms and red onions. I topped these with some cheddar cheese. The other two slices shown in the picture are topped with camembert and sun-dried tomatoes. You could also wrap a slice in prosciutto. Red peppers and goats cheese can be delicious with it too! Bacon is also nice with it!

Sweet French Toast

french toast with berries

I don’t normally eat sweet french toast, but it can be nice for a change.  Raspberries, blueberries and some maple syrup make this easy and yummy! You can also sprinkle some icing sugar over them.

Something Different – French toast with courgettes and raspberries in Brandy

I had an idea to make French Toast with courgettes and strawberries, but strawberries are not good at the moment and so overpriced, so I decided to try it with some raspberries.

courgettes and rasberries

I fried some raspberries and courgettes in brandy. The juice of the raspberries with the brandy is delicious. Then place the mixture on the french toast and drizzle some maple syrup over the french toast.  Use some fresh raspberries for decoration. Try it and see if you like it! I really did!

