Dates: The right type of date for a teenager!

As a teenager I loved dates. I hated bringing a packed lunch to school. I found dates easy to snack on and they are sweet and healthy. In Ireland, a bag of crisps can be found in most teenagers school bags. We were never allowed eat them in my house, and as a result I have never really liked them. In college, I would grab a bag of crisps the odd time if I was in a hurry, but I always felt sick afterwards! Dried fruit like dried dates are great to have in your cupboard for a work, study or school snack!

Nutritional Values of Dried Dates

Serving Size: 10 dates

Calories: 234

Fat: <1 g

Cholesterol: 0 mg

Carbohydrate: 61 g

Protein: 2 g

Dietary Fiber: 6 g

Sodium: 2 mg

Niacin: 1 mg

Pantothenic Acid: <1 mg

Vitamin B6: <1 mg

Calcium: 32 mg

Copper: <1 mg

Iron: <1 mg

Magnesium: 36 mg

Potassium: 541 mg

Vitamin K: 2.2 mcg

